New Now...
We're delighted to share details of those Commended as part of our Student Awards programme for 2019/20.

All commended entrants are listed, in no particular order, below. Remember, there is no hierarchy of winners — a commendation means you've won. The variation in commendations per brief accounts for the number of entries per, and also judicial considerations.

A huge thanks once again to all those who took the time to take part; and to our partners for setting such a challenge collection of briefs. And many thanks for everyone's patience as with the disruption that recent global events has brought to teams, meant that the judging period had to be extended this year.

News on timings and next steps will be shared here shortly, and please do have a look at our mini-collection of Summer School briefs too.


Commendations for 2019/20

Camden Town Brewery

Sonja Johansson, Falmouth University
Ella Watson, Falmouth University
Annie Hall, Leeds Arts University
Charlie Springett, Nottingham Trent University
Erin Tilling, University of Lincoln
Inga Ziemele, Central Saint Martins
Jacob Hutchinson, Sheffield College
Kate Sedgley, Salford University
Kira Blake, Leeds Arts University
Maria Shandrik, University for the Creative Arts
Monika Stachowiak, University of Edinburgh
Nina Ahmad Ridzuan, Norwich University of the Arts
Santiago Taberna, Köln International School of Design (Cologne, Germany)
Thomas McKau, Gray's School of Art
Valentina Torella, Edinburgh College
Hollie Fuller, Leeds Arts University
Erin Ruane, Norwich University of the Arts
Eve French, University of the Arts London

The Guardian

Adam Poirrier, University Of Gloucestershire
Ben Warner, University of Leeds
Charlotte Cunningham, Leeds Art University
Daniel Mason, University of Lincoln
Kate McCartney, University of Leeds
Liam Mulkerrins, University of Leeds


Eleanor Roberts, University of West London
Georgina McDowall and Isobel Griffiths, Leeds Arts University

Smart Energy GB

Connor McCallum, Edinburgh Napier University
Heather Dexter, University of Leeds
Josh Hooper and Charlie Berwick, Coventry University

First Mile

Amy Whittaker, Falmouth University
Chloe Greenway, University of South Wales
Emily Chivers, University of Portsmouth


Greta Stepanyan, Chelsea College of Arts
Mackinnon Scott, Edinburgh Napier University
Rebecca Konteh and Abigail Wakeling, University of Gloucestershire

hmv brief 1

Ryan Hayes, Jess Edwards and Tyler Pearce, Norwich University Of The Arts
Daegan Eppey, Chelsea College of Arts
Elizabeth Brisbane, University of Lincoln
Jaime Tucker, Birmingham City University
Benjamin Persaud, Chelsea College of Arts
Di Cao, Chelsea College of Arts
Jamie Carroll, Chelsea College of Arts
Ben Bloxham, University of Huddersfield

hmv brief 2

Kirsty McGill, Birmingham City University
Alex Wood, Robert Gordon University
Tom Horbury and Chloe Kilgariff, Norwich University of the Arts
Grace Birch, Birmingham City University
Eloise Dufossez, University of the Arts London

Fedrigoni x Oliver Bonas

Ray Wong, Plymouth University
Sophie Gregan, Leeds Arts University
Beth Turnbull-Smailes, Leeds Arts University
Bronte Rockliff, York St John University
Laura Henderson, Gray's School of Art, RGU
Billie Sprong, Leeds Art University
Emma Brookes, University of Portsmouth
Gemma Smith, University of Hertfordshire
Georgina Smith, Leeds Arts University
Greg McIndoe, Duncan of Jordanstone
Kai Wong, Nottingham Trent University
Elia Ballesteros and Carolina Cancanilla, Edinburgh College
Victoria Rea, Ulster University
Pavils Vorobjovs, Edinburgh College
Katie Packer, University of Portsmouth
Migle Vosyliut, University of Westminster

STA Travel

Kane Curtin, Cork Institute of technology
Molly Coathup, University of Leeds
Emily Hawkins, University of Portsmouth
Megan LeBrunn, University of Leeds
Long Yin Yu, Coventry University
Bryan Seale, Cork Institute of Technology / Crawford College of Art and Design
Yasmine Jobrani, Gabriela Papova, Chand Khan and Adrianna Bogut, University of West London


Becca Hall and Thani Prajapati, University of Lincoln


Amy Robins, Giorgia Jacenko and Jack Henson, Bedford College
Caitlin Hemsley and Jonathan Coxon, University of Lincoln
Daniel Torres Iborra, Edinburgh College
Georgette Fischer and Lottie Furness, University of Lincoln
Lillie Prior and Laura Spence, Nottingham Trent University
Luke Becalick and Stefan Foreman, University of Lincoln

UK Greetings

Amy Kempster, University of Leeds
Bethany Free, Nottingham Trent University
Emily Rosam, Edinburgh Napier
Lisa Taylor, Norwich University Of Arts
Natalia Losowicka, Gray's School of Art
Olivia Stafford, University of Central Lancashire
Phoebe Dolphin, Leeds Beckett
Phoebe Roosen, Nottingham Trent University
Simona Hodonova, Robert Gordon University
Sweta Sanker, University of Bath


Radu Paun, Laura Vidmantaite and Gurkiran Ghatora, University of West London
Yusra Qureshi, Edinburgh Napier University
Sarah Law, Falmouth University



Student Awards: Extended Deadline

We will be accepting submissions up till 5pm (GMT) on Thursday 9th April.

New Now: Student Awards Ceremony

On the evening of 9th September, at London's historic Toynbee Hall, we celebrated and showcased all those commended as part of the most recent YCN Student Awards.
Sdh audience10

Supersize your skills this September

We're inviting students and recent graduates to join us for a free series of bite-sized, expert-led workshop sessions, designed to kickstart your progress into industry.
NN Banner Residence

Creatives in Residence, here at YCN

This summer we'll welcome a talented group to YCN, creating space to work, learn and build capability —  connecting with knowledge and opportunities across our network.